An Ideal Candidate

Home » Flagship Program » An Ideal Candidate

Our ideal candidate is:

  • A middle or upper level leader in business, education, government or not-for-profit organizations or a strong volunteer leader
  • A life-long learner open to new experiences and perspectives
  • Already volunteering in the community in a significant way
  • Willing and able to make a commitment to improve their community

Program requirements: Applicants should have the support of their employers to participate in the program, including necessary time away from work. To make the most of this unique experience, full participation in both the program days and Action Learning projects is crucial. Therefore, candidates for this program should be prepared to commit the time and effort to participate fully in the program, which includes:

  • Attending the overnight Opening Retreat in October (mandatory)
  • Attending seven full-day program sessions (1 full day each month from November through May) which will run from approximately 7:15am to 5:15pm (See Key Program Dates below)
  • Completing project work, individual reading and assigned pre-work between scheduled sessions (an average of 8-12 hours per month, varying in accordance with each team’s choices)
  • Participating in the final day of action learning project presentations and graduation in June (mandatory)
  • Assisting with the development of next year’s program

Key Program Dates for 2017-18 Program

*Wednesday, October 11 & Thursday, October 12
Thomas K. Hearn, Jr. Opening Retreat

Wednesday, October 25
Bus Tour

Wednesday, November 8
Our Community: Past, Present & Future

Wednesday, December 6
Government, Criminal Justice & Public Safety

Wednesday, January 10
Human Relations

Wednesday, February 7
Health Care

Wednesday, March 7
Weather Make-Up Day (if needed)

Wednesday, March 14
Arts in Community

Wednesday, April 11
Education

Wednesday, May 9
Social Services

*Wednesday, June 6
Closing Session 2018

*Thursday, June 7
Celebration 2018

Every program day begins at 7:15am and ends at 5:15pm
*denotes mandatory attendance