Flagship Program

Applications accepted  February through June each year.

Leadership Winston-Salem’s Flagship Program is designed to ignite community leaders with a mission of educating, connecting and energizing leaders to serve and improve the community. Likened to a “community MBA,” participants benefit through active engagement, attending one Program Day each month and working in Action Learning teams to address an actual dilemma faced by a local agency.

The program challenges participants to increase their personal and collective capacity to transform the community through civic engagement, servant leadership and building social capital. Components include:

  • Informative sessions with community leaders
  • Experiential group activities
  • Relationship building/networking opportunities
  • Opportunities for honoring all aspects of diversity
  • Action Learning Projects addressing community needs
  • Emphasis on servant leadership

Since 1984, Leadership Winston-Salem continues to provide life-changing experiences, including unparalleled networking opportunities and a learning environment comprised of participants who want to make a positive impact in the community.

2018-2019 Flagship Brochure

The flagship program starts in October and ends in June of each year. A non-refundable tuition of $2,600 includes materials, transportation, and meals for each activity day. This program involves a considerable time investment that participants are asked to commit to, both in terms of class day attendance and pre-work, and also in action learning projects undertaken for the duration of the program. Alumni note that, as with any important endeavor, the results are worth the time investment.

Key Program Dates for 2018-19 Program

*Wednesday, October 3-4
Thomas K. Hearn Jr., Opening Retreat (Overnight)*

Wednesday, October 18
Bus Tour (2:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.)

Wednesday November 14
Our Community: Past & Future

Wednesday, December 5
Government, Criminal Justice and Public Safety, December 5

Thursday, January 3
Human Relations Pre-day (5:00 p.m – 8:30 p.m.)

Wednesday, January 9
Human Relations Day

Wednesday, February 6 
Health Care Day

 

Wednesday, March 6
Weather make-up day (if needed)

Wednesday, March 13
Arts in Community Day

Wednesday, April 10
Education Day

Wednesday, May 8
Social Services Day

*Wednesday, June 5
Closing Session (day)*

*Thursday, June 6
Celebration 2019* (5:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.)

Every program day begins at 7:15am and ends at 5:15pm (unless otherwise noted)
*denotes mandatory attendance