Leadership Winston-Salem, a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt charitable organization, ensures each class represents a cross-section of the community, including business, government, health care, arts, nonprofit, and community organizations, as well as diversity in gender, age, race, and ethnicity.

Named for one of our founders, Dr. Thomas K. Hearn, Jr., the Hearn Memorial Endowment Scholarship Fund provides partial tuition assistance to eligible class members who could not otherwise attend. Founded in 2010 with the generous assistance of additional program co-founders C. Edward Pleasants and Julius H. Corpening, the fund is maintained at The Winston-Salem Foundation.

Help us continue to grow this important Fund by donating here or contact our office at 336-723-1002.

Thomas K. Hearn, Jr.

Thomas K. Hearn, Jr.


Founding Donors:

Chancellor’s Circle ($10,000+)

  • John W. Burress, III
  • Nancy & Ed Pleasants
  • The BB&T Charitable Foundation

President’s Circle ($5,000+)

  • Flow Lexus
  • John A. Taylor

Trustee’s Circle ($2,500+)

  • Claire & Hudnall Christopher
  • Paul Fulton
  • Mr. & Mrs. John F. Ward

Dean’s Circle ($1,000+)

  • Bruce M. Babcock
  • Weston P. Hatfield
  • Frank L. Blum Construction
  • Laura W. Hearn
  • Mr. & Mrs. Thomas S. Douglas, III
  • Ruthlee & Glenn Orr
  • Mr. & Mrs. Frank Driscoll
  • Quality Oil Company, LLC
  • Marvin D. Gentry, Villace Point, LLC
  • Elizabeth L. Quick
  • Jim & Holly Grobe
  • Scott Richardson, Village Tavern, Inc.

Professor’s Circle (up to $999)

  • Sandra Boyette
  • Beth N. Hopkins
  • Dr. Sharon B. Covitz
  • Arthur T. King
  • Bill & Betty Gray Davis
  • Gilmour Lake
  • Nancy Dunn
  • J. Walter McDowell
  • Douglas L. Edgeton
  • Minta McNally
  • Lynn & Barry Eisenburg
  • Danny R. Newcomb
  • Mr. & Mrs. McDara P. Folan, III
  • Lloyd G. & Gwendolyn C. Walter, Jr.
  • Kathryn W. Garner
  • John C. Whitaker, Jr.
  • Donna H. Hamilton
  • Paul Wiles
  • Charles H. & Susan Hauser

Leadership Winston-Salem would like to give
special recognition to the following donor:

Ben Sutton